Home > Information > Equal Status

Summary of Equal Status


  • The Equal Status Act 2000 came into force on the 25th October 2000.
  • It was amended by the Equality Act 2004 on the 19th July 2004.
  • The Acts relate to discrimination based on the following 9 grounds: Gender, Civil Status, Family Status, Age, Race, Religion, Disability, Sexual Orientation, Membership of the Traveller community.
  • The Acts apply to people who:
    1. Buy and sell a wide variety of goods,
    2. Use or provide a wide range of services,
    3. Obtain or dispose of accommodation,
    4. Attend at, or are in charge of, educational establishments,
    5. There are separate provisions on discriminatory clubs.
  • However all complaints must relate to at least one of the 9 discriminatory grounds listed in the previous point.

NOTE:Please note that the above points are intended only as a very brief summary of the main provision of the Acts and should not be relied upon as a legal document. There are many other provisions and exemptions under the legislation.

For more information on the legislation and for details of how to pursue a complaint please follow the links below.

Related Links: